Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Do I need to be qualified as a teacher to homeschool my kids?

The fact that you are their parent and love them best is qualification enough!  Thankfully the great state of Florida does not require a parent to hold any special degree or certificate to be able to manage their child's education.

Q: When/how will I get my membership card?

You will print this yourself from the website. Log in and then go toward the bottom of the menu on the left side, you should see a link called Membership Card. Click on that and it will bring you to a page where you can open up a PDF that you can print.

Q: What do I have to do to register my child as a homeschooler in Polk County?

Within 30 days of beginning your home education program a letter of intent to homeschool needs to be sent to the superintendent. To avoid truancy allegations, we would recommend doing this immediately, especially if you are withdrawing your child from a public or private school. The letter of intent needs to state that you plan to establish a home education system compliant with Florida Statutes 1002.41. It needs to state the names and dates of birth of the child(ren) you wish to homeschool. It also needs to state your address, and include the parent's signature. In Polk County, the address to send this letter of intent to is:
Polk County Schools
Home Education Office N998
900 Lowry Ave
Lakeland, FL  33801
We encourage you to send your notice return-receipt requested to prove that it reached its destination.
If you have other questions, please contact the Polk County Homeschool Department at (863) 665-8068 or you may email the Homeschool Secretary Lisa Street or Carol Trudell.

Q: What are my responsibilities as a homeschooler in Florida?

Your six responsibilities as a home educator, as outlined in the Guide to Homeschooling in Florida, are as follows:

  1. You must submit a letter of intent to your school district
  2. Maintian a portfolio
  3. Make your portfolio available for inspection by the school district superintendent upon a 15-day written notice
  4. Submit an annual evaluation (by an independent and licensed evaluator) for each of your children whom you homeschool
  5. Keep your child's portfolio for two years
  6. Be sure to send a letter of termination of your homeschool if your homeschool has been completed, you move from the county, or you enroll your child in a public or private school.
For more information, please see The Starting Point, a guide to homeschooling in Florida available on the FPEA website.